Helpful Links

Clubmark NI

Clubmark NI

Read More


Read More


Club Shop
Contact us

Contact us

Click here

Latest Club News & Reports

Club Race Report – 16th January 2022

Only really one event to dominate this week’s report. No, not the “work event” the committee members had that time. Yes, it’s all about the sun dappled fields of Mallusk this week. But more of that later.

Taking on the parkruns this week were:

Valley parkrun:
Ramunas Stanevicius 22:10, Karen McKee 26:05, ADav 26:07, David Esler 26:24, Paul Skillen 26:25, Neill McGlinchey 32:41, John Teer 38:33

Waterworks parkrun:
Kevin Donnelly 20:57, Lord Ian Brennan 24:31, Anton Piatek 27:08, Claire McCann 32:14

Victoria parkrun:
Martin O’Neill 18:15PB, Neil McCready 21:07, Dermot Boyd 31:40

Antrim parkrun:
Stephen Armour 20:29PB, Elijah Cushley 22:10PB, Sarah Ross 23:52, Sharon Dunn 25:36PB, Elaine Kennedy 29:32

Sixmilewater parkrun:
Bernie McAllister 27:18PB

Hillsborough Forest parkrun:
Martin McCready 36:02

Jordanstown junior parkrun:
Joseph Eager 8:54, Matthew Halliday 11:15, Ben Halliday 11:48

Waterworks junior parkrun:
Jessie Smith 14:17

So down to business and to our own wee event. This “wee” event has grown to be one of the top events on the XC calendar and is definitely now one of the first bookings of the year in many runners’ diaries. Things have obviously been far from normal in recent years and so we had no idea of the level of interest we would get this year. Turns out we had record attendances.

Whilst it was great to see the usual high calibre of athletes in the main senior races, it was just as satisfying to see over 90 primary school kids throw themselves at that first hill in the first junior race of the day.

Whilst the majority of Harriers were taking on organising and stewarding duties, several still doubled up and got the spikes on as well as the thermals:
Primary School 800m race
Joe Eager 1:57
Jack O’Neill 2:02

Eloise McAuley 1:59 (and 4th place)
Erin McNevison 2:23
Hollie Brennan 3:05

U12 2km race
Leo Mc Auley 8:12
Jack O’Neill 8:48
Sinead O’Hare 10:00

U14 3km race
Emily Murphy 14:42
Leah McNevison 15:57

Mathieson Shield 6km Ladies and Vets Race
Suzanne Brennan 30:26, Sarah Ross 31:45, Sarah O’Kane 33:02, Pamela McCafferty 33:03

Mathieson Cup 8km Men’s Race
Lee O’Boyle 29:26, Kevin Donnelly 33:34, Micky McAuley 34:29, Alan Erwin 35:01, Stephen Armour 35:34, Stephen Gallagher 35:48, Johnny Carey 40:15, Aidy Hughes 47:11

So, here’s a tune for Paul, Leeanne and all the organisers and volunteers for making today such a big success. And for all the visitors who entered our wee event and took part today.
Until next week, behave.

Club Race Report – 9th January 2021

Well, don’t know about you but I made the decision to break all my new year resolutions early just so I could get on with enjoying the rest of the year. Much easier.

Taking on the parkruns this week were:
Valley parkrun:
Stephen Gallagher 22:20, Elijah Cushley 22:27PB, ADav 22:30, Ben Davidson 22:30, Stephen Armour 22:36, Alan Erwin 25:04, Sarah Ross 25:52, David Esler 27:53, Anita Piatek 29:43, Neill McGlinchey 30:45, Marie McBrien 32:50, Roisin Brooks 33:37, Joanne Milne 34:39, Sharon Dunn 34:40

Waterworks parkrun:
Kevin Donnelly 19:09, Neil McCready 21:36, Lord Ian Brennan 25:09

Antrim parkrun:
Elaine Kennedy 53:50

Castlewellan parkrun:
Ramunas Stanevicius 20:52 and 3rd finisher

Limavady parkrun:
Johnny Carey 22:58

Jordanstown junior parkrun:
Joseph Eager 9:02, Emily Murphy 9:09, Sinead O’Hare 10:46, Matthew Hawkins 11:10, Ben Halliday 12:49
In other racing, Dermot Boyd continued to compete in the Born2Run Forest series. He completed the Gosford 10k in 1:09:48.

Alan Kerr continued his participation in a different series, the Sperrin Harriers Trail Series. Alan finished An Creggan 5 mile in 45:11

So, I hope you all enjoyed the snow this week. Whoever said there is no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothing, wasn’t from Mallusk. The only place where you can get sunburn and frostbite on the same run.
Until next week, behave.

Club Run Report – 2nd January 2022

I had a mince pie for breakfast one day this week. That’s when I knew it had to be new year, new start. My resolution this time last year was to lose 10 pounds. Only 15 left to go.

Taking on the New Year’s Day parkruns this week were:
Valley parkrun:
ADav 23:17, Kevin Donnelly 23:33, Ramunas Stanevicius 24:02, Eloise McAuley 24:11PB (and first female finisher), Leo McAuley 24:15PB, Prof Alan Ladd 26:26, Michael McAuley 26:26, Sarah Ross 26:36 (and welcome home!), Sinead O’Hare 30:08PB, Ciaran Hawkins 31:01, Fidelma McCoppin 32:10, Nikki Fleck 32:33, Joanne Milne 32:55
Well done to all the juniors hitting PBs today and showing up the oldies.

Victoria parkrun:
Emily Murphy 26:18PB

Portrush parkrun:
Alan Kerr 26:43

Citypark parkrun, Craigavon:
Stephen Semple 23:55, Maeve Kennedy 24:17

Antrim parkrun:
Ciaran Wright 23:23PB, Lord Ian Brennan 25:11, Elaine Kennedy 31:50, Dermot Boyd 50:11

Comber parkrun:
Elijah Cushley 24:05

Stormont parkrun:
David Esler 26:27PB

Jordanstown junior parkrun:
Kayden McClelland 9:33, Kobe McClelland 9:51

The Xmas cobwebs were blown off by several Harriers who took part in the highly popular Christmas Cracker pairs run in Castlewellan:
Lee O’Boyle & Micky McAuley 1:07:43, Andrew McNevison & Phil Greenwood (Lisburn Triathlon Club) 1:10:54, Karen McKee & Stephen Gallagher 1:38:27, Bernard McKeaveney & Matthew Cavill 1:39:58, Frances Murray & Neil McCready 1:42:40, Lord Ian Brennan and Paul Skillen 1:46:04, Suzanne Brennan and Kate Montgomery (Lagan Valley AC) 1:49:44, Anita Piatek and Anton Piatek 1:50:48

Kevin Donnelly was at the Lough 5 mile race finishing in 29:40.

EAMS held a back to back event with 10ks, Half Marathons and Full Marathons on 2 consecutive days:
Dermot Boyd 1:07:57 on 30th
Matthew Cavill 1:01:23 on 31st
Half Marathon:
Bernard McKeaveney 2:02:25 and 2:02:41
Elaine Kennedy 2:21:35 and 2:22:32
Angela Stevens 2:19:42 on 31st

Yesterday saw the traditional curtain raiser to the new year, the Race Over the Glens.
Several Harriers took on the hills:

Lee O’Boyle 39:36 (1st place MV35-39 category and 7th place overall), Stephen Gallagher 51:09, Micky McAuley 51:54, Joe Mathers 52:06, Alan Erwin 53:20

Remember, new year’s resolutions are not legally binding. They are more like casual promises.
And the new year doesn’t really start until Tuesday anyway so time for one more mince pie.
So, this week’s tune is not the ABBA one. Thankfully.

You’re welcome.
Until next week, behave.